I live in Saskatchewan. Do you know what that means? It means that winter extends right into March, and sometimes sticks around until April. I don't really have an issue with this. Sure, the cold sucks, but whatever. It's not like I expect an early Spring.
However, there does exist this mindset among some morons that, just because there's a picture of flowers on the March page of the calender, that it's nice outside. We had one day that was above 5ÂșC, then it went back to sub-zero temperatures.
These people, whom evolution will eventually get around to dealing with, insist that, because of that one semi-nice day when the snow melted a bit, that it's time to bust out the shorts, and burn all the full-length pants.
The day after the aforementioned nice day, I'm sitting in my English class, and the guy beside is sporting full on Hawaiian flower shorts and flip flops. I could not believe it. First off, there's still a foot of snow covering the ground. Second, the temperature had dipped back below freezing.
This jackass, however, wasn't content just wearing his obnoxious flower shorts and flip flops. Oh no, he has to start talking like "cold enough for you? oh the cold doesn't bother me." Really? Are you determined to get frostbite? Or do you think that your attire makes you immune to the elements? Like fuck. I want summer just as bad as you do, but have some common sense.
The sad part is, that day, and in the weeks since, I have seen dozens of people supporting the shorts and sandals look. Never mind that we've had less than a week of above freezing temperatures. Doesn't seem to faze them. No wonder there was an outbreak of tuberculosis at the University of Regina. People are determined to make themselves sick.
I'm usually pretty laid back. But sometimes the idiocy of people just gets to me. These people are making a conscious effort to be jackasses. All I can do is just shake my head.